Subject to change.

Week 1

Lecture 1: Introduction

Tuesday, Jan. 9

What is data science? Why is it important? Who are we? Course overview.

Recommended reading

Lecture 2: Introduction to Programming in Python, Version Control

Thursday, Jan. 11

Running a Python program, IPython, Jupyter notebooks, variables and data types, operations, functions, scope. Version Control with GIT

Week 2

Lecture 3: Introduction to Programming in Python II

Tuesday, Jan. 16

Data types and operators, conditions, lists, loops.

Lecture 4: Introduction to Descriptive Statistics

Thursday, Jan. 18

Variable types, basic summary statistics and plotting, covariance and correlation, and confounders.

Week 3

Lecture 5: Advanced Data Structures

Tuesday, Jan. 23

Sets, dictionaries, pandas series, working with modules.

Lecture 6: Pandas DataFrames

Thursday, Jan. 25

Reading and writing data, pandas data frames, basic plotting.

Recommended reading

  • Learning the Pandas Library: Python Tools for Data Munging, Analysis, and Visualization. Matt Harrison

Week 4

Lecture 7: Temporal Data Analysis and Applications to Stock Analysis

Tuesday, Jan. 30

Downloading, cleaning, analyzing, and visualizing stock data

Guest lecturer: Curtis Miller

Lecture 8: Hypothesis Testing and Statistical Inference

Thursday, Feb. 1

Bernoulli, Binomial, and Normal distributions, Central Limit Theorem, and Introduction to Hypothesis Testing.

Mandatory reading

  • Grus, Ch.7

Week 5

Lecture 9: Hypothesis Testing and Statistical Inference

Tuesday, Feb. 6

Bernoulli, Binomial, and Normal distributions, Central Limit Theorem, and Introduction to Hypothesis Testing.

Mandatory reading

  • Grus, Ch.7

Lecture 10: Data Visualization

Thursday, Feb. 8

Principles of Data Visualization; Visualization in Python

Week 6

Lecture 11: Linear Regression 1

Tuesday, Feb. 13

Introduction to ordinary linear regression

Recommended reading

  • ISLR, Ch. 3

Lecture 12: Topic to be announced

Thursday, Feb. 15

Week 7

Lecture 13: Topic to be announced

Tuesday, Feb. 20

Lecture 14: Topic to be announced

Thursday, Feb. 22

Week 8

Lecture 15: Topic to be announced

Tuesday, Feb. 27

Lecture 16: Topic to be announced

Thursday, Mar. 1

Week 9

Lecture 17: Topic to be announced

Tuesday, Mar. 6

Lecture 18: Topic to be announced

Thursday, Mar. 8

Week 10

Lecture 19: Topic to be announced

Tuesday, Mar. 13

Lecture 20: Topic to be announced

Thursday, Mar. 15

Week 11

Spring Break

Week 12

Lecture 19: Topic to be announced

Tuesday, Mar. 27

Lecture 20: Topic to be announced

Thursday, Mar. 29

Week 13

Lecture 21: Topic to be announced

Tuesday, Apr. 3

Lecture 22: Topic to be announced

Thursday, Apr. 5

Week 14

Lecture 23: Topic to be announced

Tuesday, Apr. 10

Lecture 24: Topic to be announced

Thursday, Apr. 12

Week 15

Lecture 25: Topic to be announced

Tuesday, Apr. 17

Lecture 26: Topic to be announced

Thursday, Apr. 19

Week 16

Lecture 27: Topic to be announced

Tuesday, Apr. 24